Worcester Preview


By Falconsfan07
April 25 2017

Well here it is. The last home game of the season, I look forward to welcoming the Warriors fans to Kingston Park, and hopefully can find a couple to chat with during the game this Friday. Funnily enough, the Warriors are now the only Premiership team that I haven't seen play so I am looking forward to a close encounter....

 

....(and one that hopefully can see us end our 4 match losing streak against Worcester) and see us kick on for a 7th placed finish...I am not too confident though.

 

The man who almost kept Newcastle in the Premiership...

 

The late arrival of Gary Gold as a Director of Rugby at Worcester has been something of a revelation for Worcester. Before The South African arrived, the Warriors laid 12th in the Aviva Premiership and had just lost to Bristol, who looked like they could survive, but since then, Worcester have picked up 17 points in their last 7 Premiership matches, including big wins over Bath and a thumping victory over Bristol Rugby, who are now relegated.

 

Why Newcastle need the win.

1. For a strong finish to the season. After the capitulating away defeats against the Tigers & Harlequins and a somewhat inaccurate performance against Gloucester in which we still managed to win somehow...I think we need a really strong cohesive team performance to finish the season on a high and set the platform for next season, and no better way to do it than against our worst bogey team ey! Newcastle haven't beaten Worcester since 2013 in the season that the South West club where relegated, but after 18 defeats on the trot for the Warriors, they managed to get a much needed win against the Falcons at KP. Results against Worcester have never been good since then, two poor performances against them last Season and an absolute horror show of errors at Sixways in round 6 of this season has seen the Warriors become a Falcons bogey team. We never play well against them, we are always on the back foot against them and never seem to be able to string any phases together or consistently go forward, they are never really good encounters.

Highlights (lowlights?) of the 4 defeats- 
 
 youtube.com 2013/14
 
 youtube.com 2015/16
 
 youtube.com 2015/16

youtube.com 2016/17
 

 

The lowdown on Worcester:

 

Dean Ryan Wuss

The departure of Dean Ryan just before the Premiership season began had devastating effects on the Warriors. Carl Hogg was under immense pressure to get his team performing. Warriors looked lost defensively and were leaking an awful lot of tries. Their line-out was a mess, they had a lot of influential players out like Francois Hougaard, Ben T'eo who was away on international duty, but most of all, the club had no culture and the feeling around the place was the players didn't want to play for the club. The team wasn't bonded and it looked as if no one wanted to be in the fight.

Articles like this didn't help their causes either... Mailonline - Ben Teo
 
The arrival of Gary Gold has been a revelation for the club, he has brought a culture, and a work ethic that has made the players fight and scrap for everything. Shrewd signings have been made in the shape of Flanker Chris Vui and hooker Joe Taufete'e. Both Islanders have contributed massively to the Worcester revival with their expansive running games. Combine that with the return of Hougaard who loves playing at a quick pace, the inclusion of academy players like Perry Humphreys and Josh Adams who are deadly when given a sniff of space, then you have a very dangerous team that if it has quick ball will cut you to pieces, they have great distributors in Olivier and T'eo and a lot of strike runners across the back line so Newcastle will have to be on the money.

Worcester have solid professionals all over the park, one player at the centre of this revival has just signed a new contract with the club.

Donncha O'Callaghan

 

While Gold has simplified the Warriors game plan and made the team a much more dangerous attacking unit, he has also named a new Captain in Munster legend Donnacha O' Callaghan, the Irish legend has brought a calm steadiness to a team in panic. He says the right things at the right time and he leads by example. There is no one better than a player with his wealth of experience to lead the club.

WORCESTER’S LAST 5 RESULTS.

24-14 LOSS AWAY TO NORTHAMPTON SAINTS IN PREMIERSHIP

41-24 WIN @ HOME TO BRISTOL IN PREMIERSHIP

40-33 LOSS AWAY TO WASPS IN PREMIERSHIP

36-26 LOSS AWAY TO SALE SHARKS IN PREMIERSHIP

25-19 WIN @ HOME TO BATH IN PREMIERSHIP

2 WINS OUT OF 5, 139 POINTS SCORED, 143 POINTS CONCEDED.


NEWCASTLE’S LAST 5 RESULTS.

36-14 LOSS AWAY TO EXETER IN PREMIERSHIP

27-35 LOSS @ HOME TO SARACENS IN PREMIERSHIP

53-17 LOSS AWAY TO HARLEQUINS IN PREMIERSHIP

16-14 WIN @ HOME TO GLOUCESTER IN PREMIERSHIP

30-3 LOSS AWAY TO LEICESTER IN PREMIERSHIP

1 WIN IN LAST 5, 77 POINTS SCORED, 168 POINTS CONCEDED. 4 POINTS



Who should be favourites?
Worcester should be, in my humble opinion. Worcester are a good side, they are playing the much more attractive, dangerous or expansive rugby, they have a pack that can give them quick ball around the field from set piece, they bring defenses in with Hougaard’s sniping play, then put their dangerous runners like Olivier, Humphreys, Pennell & Adams in space. They have very mobile/powerful props in Schonert & Ruskin and a very abrasive hard working back row who have a wide range of skills, hard hitting Potgeiter, All round ball player with Sam Lewis and the ever effective hard carrying Samoan bulldozer Fa'asoliva makes up for a quality back row and one that could be an absolute nightmare to us if they are on the front foot this Friday night.

The pack really needs a big performance this Friday, no excuses they just need to perform. Whoever is at 2 needs to get his arrows right, the second rows need to make the right decisions of where the ball is going to be thrown, and the front row needs to cope with Schonert/Bower and Ruskin, if we’re going back, then Wilson and Welch will be ineffective, we will have no quick ball to play with and it will be a long old night for us.

Warriors player to watch.

J Taufetee

Highly rated by Director of Rugby Gary Gold, hard-working hooker Taufet'ee has been a shrewd signing for Warriors. His barnstorming carries in the loose and effective offloading game, combined with his hard working defensive shifts have made him a fan favorite with the Warriors faithful. The USA international of Samoan descent is a bundle of energy around the park, and a powerful scrummager and player with ball in hand. A top player to keep an eye out for.

pqs: qs:
Worcester Preview
Posted by: FalconsRugby.org.uk (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 20:03

What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: alas (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 20:18

Worcester are poor travellers everywhere, it would seem, apart from Kingston Park. A good performance against them is long, long overdue.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: falconsfan07 (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 20:36

Quote:
alas
Worcester are poor travellers everywhere, it would seem, apart from Kingston Park. A good performance against them is long, long overdue.

Oh aye, they haven't won on the road in a year, but they're playing some really good rugby and in my opinion, had it not of been for the departure of Dean, it would of been a different season for them, the culture and vibe about the place stunk before Gold came in, but he's a passionate speaker and has obviously gave the guys there the kick up the bum they need.

We just always seem to be flat and inaccurate against them, can't put my finger on it why like, but I agree that a strong team performance with accuracy is long overdue.

Fingers crossed.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: AFalcon24 (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 22:10

They have some squad really when you look at it, one player what has stood out for them in my opinion is Will Spencer the big lock. smiling smiley

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: falconsfan07 (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 22:12

Quote:
AFalcon23
They have some squad really when you look at it, one player what has stood out for them in my opinion is Will Spencer the big lock. smiling smiley

Aye he's been good for them for the past couple of month, as has prop Ryan Bowers, Ryan Mills and Josh Adams. Looking very dangerous atm.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Underdog (IP Logged)
Date: 25/04/2017 22:32

Worcs fan here.

Just wanted to say what a great preview this is, and clearly written by someone who knows their rugby. New info we've been getting is that Schonert is out for the remainder of the season and Adams might well miss out on the journey north.

Our likely team:
Pennell, Humphreys, Willison, T'eo, Heem, Mills, Hougaard; Bower, Taufete'e, Alo, DOC, Spencer, Vui, Lewis, Mama

I was really pleased to see Falcons do so well mid season and hope that we see a repeat from the start of next season. Best of luck.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: dick g (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 06:07

According to TRP Worcester spends 98% of its annual turnover on players wages. A pretty poor return, then.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Monkey1 (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 06:22

Quote:
dick g
According to TRP Worcester spends 98% of its annual turnover on players wages. A pretty poor return, then.

To be fair that just shows that reading too much into the guff that gets filed at Companies House is downright silly.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Getitright (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 11:05

We're not that far removed in percentage terms of salary against turnover. We are certainly one of the higher percentages in the Premiership presumably due to the smaller turnover at KP compared to the 'larger' teams.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: NorfolkFalcon (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 12:05

Just hope we can get this monkey off our back and beat Worcester at home!

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: falconsfan07 (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 12:10

Quote:
Underdog
Worcs fan here.
Just wanted to say what a great preview this is, and clearly written by someone who knows their rugby. New info we've been getting is that Schonert is out for the remainder of the season and Adams might well miss out on the journey north.

Our likely team:
Pennell, Humphreys, Willison, T'eo, Heem, Mills, Hougaard; Bower, Taufete'e, Alo, DOC, Spencer, Vui, Lewis, Mama

I was really pleased to see Falcons do so well mid season and hope that we see a repeat fro
m the start of next season. Best of luck.

Thanks Underdog,

Much appreciated. Ahh I forgot about Mama, good fetcher and all round ball player as well. It would be a blessing for us to see Schonert out, he mullets us at the scrum last time out, as with Adams, he could cause some damage on our turf, lads on fire!

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: dick g (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 16:22

Quote:
Monkey1
Quote:
dick g
According to TRP Worcester spends 98% of its annual turnover on players wages. A pretty poor return, then.

To be fair that just shows that reading too much into the guff that gets filed at Companies House is downright silly.

OK Monk. I take your point. But how are the figs in TRP incorrect?

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Monkey1 (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 18:15

For the sake of argument assume the turnover of Wuss was 10m. They would then be spending 980,000 on wages and 200,000 on everything else. That is obviously away with the pixies, you simply cannot run Sixways & everything in it as well as medical, financial, insurance, etc for anything like that.

For example, if they take on average 40 people to every away game it would be a miracle if they could fly/bus, stay in hotels & eat for on average 200 per head so for 15 away games that comes to 120,000. That leaves you about 80,000 for everthing else, probably less than they spend on stock for the club shop.

After too many years looking at financial figures my first test is to ask if the big picture makes sense.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: dick g (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 18:40

Quote:
Monkey1
For the sake of argument assume the turnover of Wuss was 10m. They would then be spending 980,000 on wages and 200,000 on everything else. That is obviously away with the pixies, you simply cannot run Sixways & everything in it as well as medical, financial, insurance, etc for anything like that.
For example, if they take on average 40 people to every away game it would be a miracle if they could fly/bus, stay in hotels & eat for on average 200 per head so for 15 away games that comes to 120,000. That leaves you about 80,000 for everthing else, probably less than they spend on stock for the club shop.



After too many years looking at financial figures my first test is to ask if the big picture makes sense.

Thanks M. Perhaps the percentage of pay from turnover is accurate. But there are other sources of dosh which somehow aren't regarded as part of turnover. But then, I'm not an acootant.

Hopefully somebody else will challenge the figures in the next TRP.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: usa warrior (IP Logged)
Date: 26/04/2017 20:22

[quote falconsfan07][quote Underdog]

Thanks Underdog,

Much appreciated. Ahh I forgot about Mama, good fetcher and all round ball player as well. It would be a blessing for us to see Schonert out, he mullets us at the scrum last time out, as with Adams, he could cause some damage on our turf, lads on fire![/quote]

Unfortunately (for us) both Schonert and Adams are injured and out for the remainder. Bryce Heem is just as deadly on the wing though! Young tight heads though so Schonert is a loss.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Southstand(again) (IP Logged)
Date: 27/04/2017 07:15

Quote:
Monkey1
For the sake of argument assume the turnover of Wuss was 10m. They would then be spending 980,000 on wages and 200,000 on everything else. That is obviously away with the pixies, you simply cannot run Sixways & everything in it as well as medical, financial, insurance, etc for anything like that.
For example, if they take on average 40 people to every away game it would be a miracle if they could fly/bus, stay in hotels & eat for on average 200 per head so for 15 away games that comes to 120,000. That leaves you about 80,000 for everthing else, probably less than they spend on stock for the club shop.

After too many years looking at financial figures my first test is to ask if the big picture makes sense.

Monkey1, Worcester Warriors, I'm sure like many modern clubs, is a combination of entities.

WRFC Players Ltd is set up solely for the payment of the playing staff. It does this on behalf of its parent company WRFC Trading Ltd.

The Trading Company runs the stadium and the commercial side of the business.

In turn, Trading is financed by Hockley Investments, a company wholly owned by a Mr. David Allan and his family, the Jersey based Chairman/owner of DHL distribution.

I understand during the period of Dean Ryan's tenure one of of the primary objectives was heavy reinvestment in the Club's academies and provision of new regional training centres. This was funded by Hockley investments to the tune of 6 million.

I'm fairly sure this would account for some of figures.

Although Dean did ultimately "leave us in the lurch" this is looking to be a worthwhile investment as talented youngsters are starting to break into the first team squad.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Monkey1 (IP Logged)
Date: 27/04/2017 10:05

I had a quick peruse at the published accounts last night & as Southstand says, there is all sorts of stuff moving around, which is what you would expect. For a journalist to then state that 98% of the club turnover is player wages just illustrates nicely why you shouldn't believe anything that you read in the papers.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Southstand(again) (IP Logged)
Date: 27/04/2017 11:04

Wuss squad for Friday

15 Chris Pennell
14 Bryce Heem
13 Wynand Olivier
12 Ben Te'o
11 Perry Humphreys
10 Ryan Mills (C)
9 Francois Hougaard
1 Val Rapava Ruskin
2 Joe Taufete'e
3 Biyi Alo
4 Chris Vui
5 Will Spencer
6 Dewald Potgieter
7 Sam Lewis
8 Marco Mama

Replacements
16 Jack Singleton
17 Ryan Bower
18 Gareth Milasinovich
19 Darren Barry
20 Alafoti Faosiliva
21 Luke Baldwin
22 Ryan Lamb
23 Cooper Vuna

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: dick g (IP Logged)
Date: 27/04/2017 15:42

Quote:
Monkey1
I had a quick peruse at the published accounts last night & as Southstand says, there is all sorts of stuff moving around, which is what you would expect. For a journalist to then state that 98% of the club turnover is player wages just illustrates nicely why you shouldn't believe anything that you read in the papers.

Naughty, naughty O Mighty Monk. You shouldn't believe EVERYTHING you read in the papers. I'm sure this is what you really mean.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Albionwarrior (IP Logged)
Date: 27/04/2017 16:02

Hi Newcastle friends

Looking forward to a good game, appears we are both putting out a strong side and both will have strong attacking intent in the backs.

Our pack looks solid with Vui moving from the back row to second row.

Heem returning on the wing is a plus.

We will at last be playing with no fear of relegation hanging over our head.

With us both being used to playing on likewise services it will be a fast, explosive and high scoring game IMO.

The team that executes it's game plan best and makes the least number of mistakes will win .... stating the obvious aren't I.

See you tomorrow evening and as always looking forward to superb Falcons hospitality.

All the best

Albionwarrior

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: JustAnotherOnlooker (IP Logged)
Date: 28/04/2017 10:47

Just walked past Gary Gold in the metrocentre. That was weird.

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: aidanb (IP Logged)
Date: 28/04/2017 11:05

Quote:
NorfolkFalcon
Just hope we can get this monkey off our back and beat Worcester at home!

Monkey, what are you doing on his back ?

Re: Worcester Preview
Posted by: Monkey1 (IP Logged)
Date: 28/04/2017 11:30

Quote:
aidanb

Monkey, what are you doing on his back ?

We are consenting adults.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net