Report This Message
Are you sure you want to report this post?

England squads
Posted by: Quinten Poulsen
Date: 19/05/2009 12:18
May 19, 2009
England Team Manager Martin Johnson has recalled Rugby World Cup winners Steve Thompson (Brive) and Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers) to his 34-man England squad to take on the Barbarians and Argentina in a two-Test summer tour.

Captained by Saracens' Steve Borthwick, the squad also includes six uncapped players in David Wilson and Tom May from Newcastle Falcons, Jordan Turner-Hall and Chris Robshaw from Harlequins, Sam Vesty (Leicester Tigers) and Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby).

England kick off their 2009 summer tour against the Barbarians at Twickenham Stadium on May 30 (4.15pm), before heading to Old Trafford for the first Test against Argentina on June 6 (4pm), followed by a return match in Salta on June 13.

England Team Manager Martin Johnson said: "This is a very strong squad full of a mixture of experience and young talent. I'm sure that any of the uncapped players will take the step up from the Saxons to the senior test arena if they are given the opportunity.

"I'm looking forward to all three games and the three day training camp this week, which will give us further invaluable time with the squad."

Also confirmed today was the 26-man England Saxons squad to defend the Churchill Cup in Denver, Colorado. The squad features eight capped players, including Danny Cipriani, Luke Narraway and Tom Varndell.

England Saxons coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We have a great balance of players in the squad with youth and experience. All of the players are looking forward to challenging themselves in Denver.

"The Churchill Cup is a massive stepping stone for players and we want to create an environment that encourages them to push for senior selection.

"There is no bigger honour than playing for your country and I know this group of players will embrace that and enjoy every minute."

England summer tour squad

Steffon Armitage (London Irish)
Steve Borthwick (Saracens, captain)
George Chuter (Leicester Tigers)
Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
James Haskell (London Wasps)
Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers)
Nick Kennedy (London Irish)
Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
Tim Payne (London Wasps)
Tom Rees (London Wasps)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)*
Steve Thompson (Brive)
Julian White (Leicester Tigers)
David Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)*
Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)*

Delon Armitage (London Irish)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
Andy Goode (Brive)
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)*
Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers)
Paul Hodgson (London Irish)
Tom May (Newcastle Falcons)*
Olly Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Jamie Noon (Newcastle Falcons)
David Strettle (Harlequins)
Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)
Sam Vesty (Leicester Tigers)*
Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks)

* Denotes uncapped player

Players not considered for injury/medical reasons: Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Tom Palmer (London Wasps), Paul Sackey (London Wasps), Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby) and Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle Falcons).

England Saxons Churchill Cup squad

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Phil Dowson (Newcastle Falcons)
David Flatman (Bath Rugby)*
Tom Guest (Harlequins)
Stuart Hooper (Bath Rugby)
Chris Jones (Sale Sharks)*
Tom Mercey (Saracens)
Luke Narraway (Gloucester Rugby)*
Dean Schofield (Sale Sharks)*
Peter Short (Bath Rugby)
Joe Ward (London Wasps)
Rob Webber (London Wasps)
Ben Woods (Leicester Tigers)

Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby)*
Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Noah Cato (Saracens)
Danny Cipriani (London Wasps)*
Shane Geraghty (London Irish)*
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)
Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
Tom Varndell (Leicester Tigers)*
Dominic Waldouck (London Wasps)
Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)

* Denotes capped players

Players not considered for injury/medical reasons: Olly Barkley (Gloucester Rugby), Richard Blaze (Leicester Tigers), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Michael Lipman (Bath Rugby), Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), David Paice (London Irish), Topsy Ojo (London Irish), Will Skinner (Harlequins), George Skivington (London Wasps) and James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby).

Tickets for England's match against the Barbarians on Saturday May 30 at Twickenham Stadium are available on a two for one special offer priced from 12.50 (offer ends midnight May 26) from Ticketmaster on 0844 8472492 or

Tickets for Argentina v England for 'The Standard Bank Cup' at Old Trafford on Saturday June 6 are priced from just 10 for adults and are available via Ticketmaster or Manchester United (0161 868 8000 option 9 or via e-mail to

You may optionally give an explanation for why this post was reported, which will be sent to the moderators along with the report. This can help the moderator to understand why you reported the post.

We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing